I miss the sun, I miss the snow

The weather here is grey most of the time. Sometimes I like to imagine that it’s that kind of shimmery grey that brings snow. I never is. Often there is so much grey that it feels like I am drifting through some kind of dreamlike fog with neither the sharpness and light of sun nor the cleanness and excitement of snow. It’s on these kind of days that suddenly grey becomes the most interesting colour and I just stare out of the window where I am supposed to be working at the invisible clouds rolling into one. They are both the stuff of dreams and of boredom.

At these time I have a specific type of music that I listen too. It’s hard to describe but for the purposes of this blog I’m going to try. The songs are kind of dreamy, not too loud and normally drenched in reverb and fuzz. Often there is a sort of electro-pop feel to these songs. The original playlist of this kind of music was made from songs my dad played on the drive home from London after seeing Slowdive play their first show in 20 years at the Village Underground. Over time this kind of music has become a sort of genre for me.

Here are a few songs from this genre/ idea/ thing.

Leave a Reply

