Music From This Week (24/10/15)

This week’s selection comes from sunny Wiltshire where I am spending some of my half term. Happy Sunday 

Teenage – Veronica Falls

Despite the obvious cliches I’m all for girl-boy indie pop. While Veronica Falls probably won’t win any points for originality, this song is catchy and well produced. The two vocalists remind me a bit of The Pastels which is definitely a compliment.

Tugboat – Galaxie 500

Having been alerted to the fact that the Frankie Cosmos song Art School sounds an awful lot like like Listen The Snow Is Falling, I then decided to listen to some other stuff by this band and I liked them. This is the most popular Galaxie 500 song according to YouTube therefore the first song I listened to by them. I really like what I have heard and will definitely be finding some more songs to listen to by them.

Fade – Sleater-Kinney

As the last track off their most recent release No Cities To Love, this song provides a slightly different sound that perfectly finishes off the album. The heavily modulated guitar and vocals make the song stand out and the drums are powerful and build with the song.

Leave a Reply

